Race Facts – Australian Grand Prix

Filed in Australian F1 Travel Guide by on 0 Comments

History and background of the Australian Formula 1 Grand Prix in Melbourne. The season-opening race is on March 22-25, 2018.

Melbourne began hosting the Australian Grand Prix at the Albert Park circuit in 1996, taking over from Adelaide, which hosted the race from 1985-1995. Albert Park is a historic venue which held non-championship Australian Grand Prix races as far back as 1953. For the majority of the year, the park is a popular local recreational space with walking trails, picnic areas and sports facilities. The temporary circuit is assembled around six weeks before race weekend and then disassembled again four weeks after the race.

Typical attendances over the weekend in Australia is around 300 000 spectators, with a crowd in excess of 100 000 on race day, making it one of the best attended races on the current F1 calendar. There is a friendly atmosphere and the multicultural population of Melbourne provides a great welcome for traveling fans. The Australians do such a good job of organizing the race weekend that representatives from Australia have helped organizers from newer races on the calendar to plan their own Grands Prix. The Australian Grand Prix is set to remain on the F1 calendar until at least 2023 after a new contract was signed in 2015. The race costs taxpayers in Victoria approximately $50m AUD per annum, which has been a source of some controversy for some time, despite the tourism revenue and global promotion the city enjoys from the race .

AusGP: did you know?

  • Michael Schumacher is the most successful driver at Albert Park, scoring four wins (2000, 2001, 2002, 2004). Jenson Button has three wins (2009, 2010, 2012).
  • The best result from an Australian at Albert Park was Mark Webber’s 4th place in 2012. Webber also scored points for Minardi on his F1 debut at the circuit in 2002. Daniel Ricciardo finished 2nd in 2014, but was later disqualified.
  • Danish driver Kevin Magnussen finished second in Australia in 2014 on debut, his best result to date
  • It takes an estimated 290,000 man hours to assemble the circuit every year

Australian Grand Prix Facts

Circuit NameAlbert Park Street circuit
Track Length5.303km (16 turns)
Race Distance58 laps (307.574 km)
Lap Record1:24.124, Michael Schumacher (Ferrari), 2004
2017 result1st Sebastian Vettel (Ferrar) 1:24:11.672
2nd Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) + 9.975s
3rd Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes) + 11.250s
September 3, 2018

Trackside – 2019 Australian Grand Prix

Useful information to help you get the most out of your trackside experience at Albert Park for the Australian Grand Prix in Melbourne.

July 14, 2018

Tickets – 2019 Australian Grand Prix

Your guide to buying tickets for the Australian Grand Prix at Albert Park. Advice on General Admission, Grandstands and VIP tickets.

July 4, 2018

Accommodation – 2019 Australian Grand Prix

From budget to luxury, we’ve chosen the best F1-friendly accommodation in Melbourne with easy access to Albert Park for the Australian Grand Prix.

March 19, 2018

What’s on in Melbourne on 2018 Australian Grand Prix weekend?

Melbourne is a vibrant city of sports, entertainment and festivals. Here’s some ideas to keep you busy away from the track on 2018 Australian Grand Prix weekend, March 22-25.

March 15, 2018

Destination Australia: test your F1 travel knowledge

How well do you know Melbourne and the Australian Grand Prix? Take our quiz to test your skills!

January 11, 2018

Budget Planner – 2018 Australian Grand Prix

How much will a weekend at the Australian Grand Prix in Melbourne set you back? Read our budget planner to find out!

January 4, 2018

Off-Track Activities – Australian Grand Prix

The best off-track activities in Melbourne on Australian Grand Prix weekend. What to see and where to eat, drink, shop and go out.

January 2, 2018

Travel Basics – Australian Grand Prix

Useful travel information to help you start planning your trip to the Australian Grand Prix in Melbourne.

January 2, 2018

Race Facts – Australian Grand Prix

Background information and history of the Australian Grand Prix at the Albert Park street circuit in Melbourne

December 13, 2017

Getting There & Around – Australian Grand Prix

Advice on getting to Melbourne for the Australian Grand Prix & getting around in the city during race weekend, including the best ways to get to the Albert Park street circuit.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *