Race Facts – Spanish Grand Prix

Filed in Spanish F1 Travel Guide by on 0 Comments

Learn about the history of the Spanish Formula 1 Grand Prix at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. The next race is on May 11-13, 2018.

The Spanish Grand Prix, first contested over 100 years ago, is one of the oldest motor races in the world. Since 1967, it has retained a spot on the Formula 1 calendar at a variety of venues including Jarama, Jerez and since 1991, the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya outside Barcelona. Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya is also regularly used for testing sessions in the F1 off-season. The current race contract is in place until 2019.


The Spanish F1 Grand Prix was a favourite of Michael Schumacher, who won the race six times in the late 1990s and early 2000s. Other multiple winners include Jackie Stewart, Mika Hakkinen, Nigel Mansell and Alain Prost, each with three wins apiece. In recent years, the spoils have been more evenly divided. In fact, between 2007-2016, the Spanish Grand Prix was won by ten different drivers! That goes some way to explaining why none of the current crop of F1 drivers has more than 2 wins at the circuit. Kimi Raikkonen (2005, 2008), Fernando Alonso (2006, 2013) and Lewis Hamilton (2014, 2017) all have two Spanish victories to their name. In 2012, the Spanish race produced an upset when Pastor Maldonado took pole position and went on to win Williams’ first race in eight years.

Spanish Grand Prix: did you know?

  • Max Verstappen became the youngest winner in F1 history (18 years, 228 days) when he won the 2016 Spanish Grand Prix
  • Circuit de Catalunya Barcelona also hosts a round of the MotoGP championship. Known as the Catalan Grand Prix, the race was won four times between 2010-2015 by Spaniard Jorge Lorenzo
  • A second Spanish round in Valencia (known as the European Grand Prix) was held for five years between 2008-2012.
  • Lella Lombardi is the only woman to have scored a top 6 finish in the F1 World Championship. She recorded half a point for sixth place in the shortened 1975 Spanish Grand Prix on the treacherous Montjuïc circuit in Barcelona.

Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya Facts

Circuit Name (type)Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya (permanent)
Race first held1991
Track Length4.655km (16 turns)
Race Distance66 laps (307.104km)
Lap Record1:21.670, Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari, 2008)
2017 Results1st Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) 1:35:56.497
2nd Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) +3.490s
3rd Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull) +1.15.820s
Spectator Capacity140 700
November 13, 2018

Travel Basics – Spanish Grand Prix

Useful travel information to help you plan your trip to the Spanish F1 Grand Prix in Barcelona.

November 5, 2018

Getting There & Around – Spanish Grand Prix

Advice on flights to Barcelona for the Spanish F1 Grand Prix, getting around in the city and information on how to get to Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

October 13, 2018

Tickets – 2019 Spanish Grand Prix

Your guide to buying tickets and watching the action at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya for the 2019 Spanish Formula 1 Grand Prix

August 21, 2018

Accommodation – 2019 Spanish Grand Prix

A selection of the best-rated accommodation in Barcelona for F1 fans going to the Spanish Grand Prix at Circuit de Catalunya.

May 6, 2018

Spanish Grand Prix Travel Quiz

How well do you know Barcelona and the Spanish Grand Prix? Test your skills in our new F1 travel quiz!

April 22, 2018

Trackside – 2018 Spanish Grand Prix

Useful information to help you get the most out of your experience at Circuit de Catalunya during the Spanish Formula 1 Grand Prix.

March 1, 2018

Off-Track Activities – Spanish Grand Prix

Barcelona boasts world class art and cultural attractions, great shopping, buzzing nightlife and enough dining options to please every budget and palate.

January 25, 2018

Race Facts – Spanish Grand Prix

History, facts and background of the Spanish Formula 1 Grand Prix at the Circuit de Catalunya outside Barcelona.

January 12, 2018

Budget Planner – 2018 Spanish Grand Prix

Plan the cost of your trip to the Spanish Grand Prix in Barcelona with our budget planner.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *