Race Facts – Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Filed in Abu Dhabi F1 Travel Guide by on 2 Comments

Formula 1’s first twilight race joined the calendar in 2009 at the newly-built Yas Marina Circuit outside Abu Dhabi, and has become firmly established as the final race of the season. The 2019 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix takes place on 28 November – 1 December.

All images © Tomasz Cwiklinski & f1destinations.com

The Hermann Tilke-designed circuit is part of the multi-billion dollar Yas Island development, which also includes a marina, Ferrari World theme park, Yas Water World and the Du Arena concert venue. Shopping centers, golf courses and hotels have also been developed on the man-made island. In late 2014, the organizers agreed a new multi-year agreement to keep Abu Dhabi on the Formula 1 calendar for the foreseeable future, though the exact length of the contract was not disclosed. The Yas Marina Circuit has capacity for approximately 60 000 spectators and tickets do sell out, despite being the most expensive on the current F1 calendar.

Abu Dhabi’s Memorable Moments

  • 2010: Down to the wire: A record four drivers – Fernando Alonso, Mark Webber, Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton – were in contention for the driver’s World Championshp coming into the decider at Yas Marina in 2010. Despite being 15 points adrift of championship leader Fernando Alonso before the race, Sebastian Vettel kept his cool to take the win and become the youngest ever F1 World Champion aged 23 years, 134 days.

  • 2012: He knows what to do: Kimi Raikkonen returned to F1 in 2012 after a two-year hiatus and took a popular win for Lotus at Yas Marina. It was his first win since the 2009 Belgian Grand Prix and came after a chaotic race, which saw a sizeable accident between Nico Rosberg and Narain Karthikeyan, plus Sebastian Vettel pulling off a great comeback drive from a pit-lane start to third. Over team radio on his way to victory, Raikkonen uttered the immortal line, “Just leave me alone, I know what to do.”

  • 2014: The desert duel: Lewis Hamilton won his second Formula 1 World Championship at Yas Marina in 2014 from team mate Nico Rosberg. For the one and only time, double points were awarded for the season-decider in 2014. The two Mercedes team mates also settled the drivers championship at Abu Dhabi two years later, but this time Nico Rosberg emerged the victor (…and promptly announced his retirement!)

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix: Did You Know?

  • Yas Marina has an advanced track design with six different configurations to suit different racing series.
  • The track has a number of unique features: a tunnel is part of the pit-lane exit and the Yas Viceroy Hotel straddles the circuit between turns 18-19.
  • Abu Dhabi is the only current F1 race that’s named after its host city rather than its host country.
  • The drivers are on full power for 69% of a lap at Yas Marina, including over 14 seconds on the back straight (the longest straight in Formula 1). Drivers make an average of 68 gear changes per lap or 3740 gear changes over the full 55-lap race distance.
  • Lewis Hamilton is the most successful driver at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, with four wins. The most successful constructor is Mercedes, with five wins.
  • Kimi Raikkonen once said of Yas Marina: “The first few turns are quite good, but the rest of it is shit.”
  • Raikkonen’s 2012 victory here is the only time the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix has been won away from the front row of the grid. The Finn started fourth in the race which provided some memorable radio transmissions.
  • Etihad, the national airline of the United Arab Emirates, is the main title sponsor of the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix and you can also see their planes taking off from the nearby airport when at Yas Marina.
  • Red Bull have never failed to get both of their cars through to the final part of qualifying on all of their appearances at the Yas Marina Circuit.
  • In three of the first four Abu Dhabi Grands Prix, the polesitter failed to finish the race.
Circuit NameYas Marina Circuit
Race first held2009
Track Length5.554km (21 turns)
Race Distance305.355 km (55 laps)
Lap Record1:40.279, Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull), 2009
2018 Result1st Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) 1:34:14.062
2nd Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) +2.581s
3rd Max Verstappen (Red Bull) +12.706s

What’s your favorite Abu Dhabi GP memory? Leave a comment!

April 2, 2019

Tickets – 2019 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix at Yas Marina

Your guide to buying tickets for the 2019 Abu Dhabi Formula 1 Grand Prix. Save 30% until May 31, 2019.
The best places to watch the action at Yas Marina on November 29 to December 1.

February 4, 2019

Off-Track Activities – Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Your guide to the best that Abu Dhabi and Dubai have to offer away from the track at this year’s Abu Dhabi Grand Prix on November 28 – December 1, 2019.

December 20, 2018

Race Facts – Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

The Abu Dhabi GP joined the F1 calendar in 2009 and has become firmly established as the final race of the season.

November 26, 2018

Travel Basics – Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Start planning your trip to the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix at Yas Marina circuit. The final race of the season takes place on November 28-December 1, 2019.

November 13, 2018

Trackside at Yas Marina – 2018 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Your trackside guide to Yas Marina Circuit for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, including full on-track schedule and information about concerts.

March 4, 2018

Budget Planner – 2018 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Work out the cost of a weekend at Yas Marina for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. The next race is on November 23-25, 2018.

January 9, 2018

Accommodation – 2018 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

The best budget, mid-range and luxury hotels in Abu Dhabi and Dubai for the Abu Dhabi Formula 1 Grand Prix at Yas Marina.

December 24, 2017

Getting There & Around – Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

The best flights to Abu Dhabi and Dubai for the season-ending Abu Dhabi Formula 1 Grand Prix, plus advice on getting to Yas Marina Circuit.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About the Author ()

Andrew Balfour is the Founder and Editor of F1Destinations.com. He originally hails from Adelaide, where he went to his first F1 race way back in 1987. He's been resident in Europe for almost 15 years and travels regularly to F1 races around the world.

Comments (2)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Paul R.Walker. says:

    Kimi R’s comment summed it up.

    Kimi Raikkonen once said of Yas Marina: “The first few turns are quite good, but the rest of it is shit.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *