FIA publishes confirmed 2014 F1 Calendar

Following its last meeting of 2013, the FIA World Motor Sport Council today published the final and confirmed nineteen race Formula 1 calendar for 2014.

  • There are few changes to the revised (unofficial) calendar which was circulated in the paddock at the recent US Grand Prix in Austin and which we wrote about here
  • Nineteen races are scheduled for the 2014 F1 season (the same as in 2013) which starts in Australia on 16th March and finishes just over eight months later in Abu Dhabi on 23rd November.
  • India and Korea are missing from the 2014 calendar and whilst India is scheduled to return in 2015, the future of the unsuccessful Korean race now appears uncertain.
  • Other casualties from the 22 race provisional calendar published by the FIA in September include New Jersey and Mexico City. The organisers of the New Jersey race have failed to raise the funds required (approx $100m USD) while the circuit in Mexico City, last used in 1992, needs more redevelopment than first thought and is likely to gain a calendar spot in 2015.
  • Austria returns to the F1 calendar for the first time since 2003. Approximately 80 000 tickets went on sale for the June race at the redeveloped Red Bull Ring circuit last week and were sold out within 3 days.
  • Sochi in Russia is the only totally new F1 destination on the calendar for 2014. The F1 circuit is part of the same complex which will stage the 2014 Winter Olympics in February 2014.

Here is the confirmed 2014 F1 calendar

  • March 16: Australia (Albert Park, Melbourne)

  • March 30: Malaysia (Sepang, Kuala Lumpur)

  • April 6: Bahrain (Sakhir)

  • April 20: China (Shanghai)

  • May 11: Spain (Catalunya, Barcelona)

  • May 25: Monaco (Monte Carlo

  • June 8: Canada (Montreal)

  • June 22: Austria (Red Bull Ring)

  • July 6: Great Britain (Silverstone)

  • July 20: Germany (Hockenheim)

  • July 27: Hungary (Hungaroring, Budapest)

  • August 24: Belgium (Spa Francorchamps)

  • September 7: Italy (Monza)

  • September 21: Singapore (Marina Bay)

  • October 5: Japan (Suzuka)

  • October 12: Russia (Sochi)

  • November 2: USA, Austin (COTA)

  • November 9: Brazil (Interlagos, Sao Paulo)

  • November 23: Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Post

Trackside at Silverstone – 2024 British Grand Prix

Record Montreal Attendance at 2024 Canadian Grand Prix

2024 Spanish Grand Prix: Everything You Need to Know Before Attending

Trackside at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya – 2024 Spanish Grand Prix

2024 British Grand Prix: Everything You Need to Know Before Attending

Trackside at Spa-Francorchamps – 2024 Belgian Grand Prix

Race Facts – Canadian Grand Prix