Twenty-race 2015 F1 Calendar Announced

At today’s meeting of the World Motor Sport Council in Beijing, the FIA has announced provisional dates for a twenty-race Formula 1 calendar in 2015.

Next year’s F1 calendar will expand from 19 to 20 races with the return of the Mexican Grand Prix at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez in Mexico City, last held in 1992. The 2015 F1 calendar closely resembles this year’s calendar – the first fourteen rounds of 2015 are unchanged and will even take place on the same weekend as in 2014.

It will be the equal longest F1 calendar in terms of the number of events (20 races were also held in 2012). The duration of the season, from the opening race in Australia on March 15 to the closer in Abu Dhabi on November 29, has also been extended by one week to accommodate the addition of the Mexican round.

Here’s a roundup of some of the late season changes:

  • The Japanese Grand Prix has been moved forward one week and is now paired on back-to-back weekends with Singapore (rather than with the Russian Grand Prix in Sochi as in 2014), which seems a more logical choice.
  • The Russian Grand Prix in Sochi will be on the same weekend as in 2014, but is now a standalone event.
  • The USA Grand Prix in Austin moves forward one week in 2015 and will be paired with the returning Mexican Grand Prix one week later. This calendar choice will be particularly concerning for the organisers at COTA, who stand to lose a big percentage of their Mexican fans (up to 50,000 are said to have made the trip to each USA Grand Prix in recent years).
  • The Brazilian Grand Prix has also moved back one week and is now a standalone event.
  • Abu Dhabi retains its spot as the season-ending race, but will happen one week later in 2015.

F1Destinations will be publishing our tenth and last Formula 1 travel guide for 2014 shortly – to the season-ending Abu Dhabi Grand Prix in late November. We will then update all ten of our guides for 2015 and also add new guides to Austria, Belgium, USA, Japan and more! Stay tuned. Subscribe to our site or follow us on social media for more updates over the coming months.

Provisional 2015 F1 Calendar

  • March 15: Australia (Albert Park, Melbourne)
  • March 29: Malaysia (Sepang, Kuala Lumpur)
  • April 5: Bahrain (Sakhir)
  • April 19: China (Shanghai)
  • May 10: Spain (Catalunya, Barcelona)
  • May 24: Monaco (Monte Carlo)
  • June 7: Canada (Montreal)
  • June 21: Austria (Red Bull Ring)
  • July 5: Great Britain (Silverstone)
  • July 19: Germany (Nurburgring)
  • July 26: Hungary (Hungaroring, Budapest)
  • August 23: Belgium (Spa Francorchamps)
  • September 6: Italy (Monza)
  • September 20: Singapore (Marina Bay)
  • September 27: Japan (Suzuka)
  • October 11: Russia (Sochi)
  • October 25: USA, Austin (COTA)
  • November 1: Mexico (Mexico City)
  • November 15: Brazil (Interlagos, Sao Paulo)
  • November 29: Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Post

Muse, Eminem and Maroon 5 to Headline 2024 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Tickets – 2025 Bahrain Grand Prix

5 Drivers Who Scored Their Maiden F1 Victory In Hungary

Trackside at the Hungaroring – 2024 Hungarian Grand Prix

2024 Hungarian Grand Prix: Everything You Need to Know Before Attending

Formula 1 Announces 2025 F1 Sprint Calendar

2024 Italian Grand Prix: Everything You Need to Know About Attending