Dates announced for first 8 races on revised 2020 Formula 1 calendar

Revised 2020 Formula 1 season

Formula 1 has announced dates for the opening 8 European races on the revised 2020 F1 calendar, including double headers in Austria and Britain. All races are expected to be held behind closed doors.

The 2020 Formula 1 season is finally set to get underway early next month in Austria following cancellations and postponements due to the coronavirus pandemic. Formula 1 announced today a calendar for the first eight rounds of the season – all of which will take place in Europe, and behind closed doors.

As previously announced, the Monaco Grand Prix, French Grand Prix and Dutch Grand Prix will not take place in 2020. The entire 2020 F1 calendar is expected to “have a total of 15-18 races before completing the season in December,” though remaining “fly-away” dates on the calendar are not expected to be finalized for a few more weeks. Formula 1 has also laid out “5 steps to safe racing,” including ongoing testing, closed events, minimal personnel, isolated travel and social distancing. All 8 Formula 1 race weekends on the revised calendar will be supported by Formula 2 and Formula 3.

A statement from F1 CEO Chase Carey reads:

“In the past weeks we have been working tirelessly with all our partners, the FIA and the teams to create a revised opening 2020 calendar allowing us to restart racing in the safest possible way. We are pleased to be able to set out our opening eight race calendar today and look forward to publishing our full calendar in the coming weeks. I want to thank every promoter and partner for their support and ongoing commitment to Formula 1. While we currently expect the season to commence without fans at our races we hope that over the coming months the situation will allow us to welcome them back once it is safe to do, but we know the return of Formula 1 will be a welcome boost to sports fans around the world.”

Revised 2020 Formula 1 calendar

1Austrian Grand PrixRed Bull RingJuly 3-5
2Austrian Grand PrixRed Bull RingJuly 10-12
3Hungarian Grand PrixHungaroringJuly 17-19
4British Grand PrixSilverstoneJuly 31 - Aug 2
5British Grand PrixSilverstoneAugust 7-9
6Spanish Grand PrixBarcelona-CatalunyaAugust 14-16
7Belgian Grand PrixSpa-FrancorchampsAugust 28-30
8Italian Grand PrixMonzaSeptember 4-6

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Post

Trackside at Silverstone – 2024 British Grand Prix

Record Montreal Attendance at 2024 Canadian Grand Prix

2024 Spanish Grand Prix: Everything You Need to Know Before Attending

Trackside at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya – 2024 Spanish Grand Prix

2024 British Grand Prix: Everything You Need to Know Before Attending

Trackside at Spa-Francorchamps – 2024 Belgian Grand Prix

Race Facts – Canadian Grand Prix