Where will W Series, Formula 2 and Formula 3 race in 2021?

W Series has joined Formula 2 and Formula 3 in confirming its calendar for 2021, with all eight races set to take place on Formula 1 weekends. Learn more about where W Series, Formula 2 and Formula 3 will support Formula 1 in 2021.

Key Points

  • Every race on the W Series calendar, Formula 2 calendar and Formula 3 calendar will take place on Formula 1 weekends in 2021
  • Sixteen races on the planned 23-race Formula 1 calendar in 2021 will have support from either W Series, Formula 2 or Formula 3 (seven races will have support from two series)
  • The majority of the races in the 2021 W Series, Formula 2 and Formula 3 calendars will take place in Europe, though Formula 2 will race at three Middle Eastern venues (Bahrain, Saudi Arabia and Abu Dhabi). Meanwhile, Formula 3 and W Series will conclude their seasons with races in the Americas.
  • Formula 2 and Formula 3 will no longer race together on the same weekend. Both feeder series will also race at less venues in 2021, but with three races per weekend rather than two.

2021 W Series calendar

The W Series championship for female racers has confirmed its calendar for 2021, with all eight races taking place on Formula 1 weekends. After a successful first season in 2019, which was won by British racer Jamie Chadwick, the second season of the W Series was postponed this year due to the coronavirus pandemic. The updated 2021 W Series calendar now begins with back-to-back races at the Red Bull Ring (Styrian Grand Prix on June 25-27 and Austrian Grand Prix on July 2-4) and follows the next four Formula 1 race weekends in Britain, Hungary, Belgium and The Netherlands before concluding with back-to-back races in the USA and Mexico City.

Catherine Bond Muir, Chief Executive Officer of the W Series, commented on the calendar announcement: “W Series’ mission will always be to further the interests and prospects of female racing drivers, and to inspire girls and women everywhere. Our 2021 race schedule in partnership with Formula 1 will significantly increase our global reach, impact and influence by placing W Series on motor racing’s greatest stage and taking us to new audiences and territories. Our drivers are ready and raring to race and entertain, and the 2021 season curtain-raiser in France* next June cannot come soon enough.”

*The French Grand Prix was moved ahead by one week from June 25-27 to June 18-20. As a result the 2021 W Series season now kicks off at the Styrian Grand Prix on June 25-27.

2021 Formula 2 calendar

Another exciting season of Formula 2 racing concluded last weekend in Bahrain with Mick Schumacher crowned the champion after a close fight with Callum Illot. The 2021 Formula 2 calendar announced recently features only eight race weekends (compared to 12 in recent years), but each weekend will feature three races. The season begins where it finished last weekend, at the 2021 Bahrain Grand Prix on March 26-28, before heading to Europe where Formula 2 will race in Monaco, Azerbaijan, Britain, Italy and Russia. The 2021 Formula 2 calendar concludes with back-to-back weekends at the inaugural Saudi Arabian Grand Prix and the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

2021 Formula 3 calendar

Cost-cutting measures in the wake of the coronavirus pandemic have also contributed to the shorter 2021 Formula 3 calendar announced recently. Featuring seven rounds with three races per weekend (actually an increase in terms of races over the past two seasons), the 2021 Formula 3 calendar begins at the Spanish Grand Prix on May 7-9. A further five races are planned in Europe (France, Austria, Hungary, Belgium and The Netherlands) before the season finishes at the United States Grand Prix for the first time. This year’s Formula 3 championship was won by young Australian racer Oscar Piastri, who graduates to Formula 2 in 2021.

2021 Formula 2, Formula 3 & W Series Calendars

DatesEventWhere?Support Categories
March 26-282021 Bahrain Grand PrixSakhirFormula 2
April 16-182021 Emilia Romagna Grand PrixImola
April 30-May 22021 Portuguese Grand PrixPortimao
May 7-92021 Spanish Grand PrixBarcelonaFormula 3
May 20-232021 Monaco Grand PrixMonacoFormula 2
June 4-62021 Azerbaijan Grand PrixBakuFormula 2
June 18-202021 French Grand PrixPaul RicardFormula 3
June 25-272021 Styrian Grand PrixSpielbergW Series
July 2-42021 Austrian Grand PrixSpielbergFormula 3, W Series
July 16-182021 British Grand PrixSilverstoneFormula 2, W Series
July 30-Aug 12021 Hungarian Grand PrixBudapestFormula 3, W Series
August 27-292021 Belgian Grand PrixSpaFormula 3, W Series
September 3-52021 Dutch Grand PrixZandvoortFormula 3, W Series
September 10-122021 Italian Grand Prix
MonzaFormula 2
September 24-262021 Russian Grand PrixSochiFormula 2
October 1-32021 Singapore Grand PrixSingapore
October 8-102021 Japanese Grand PrixSuzuka
October 22-242021 United States Grand PrixAustinFormula 3, W Series
October 29-312021 Mexico City Grand PrixMexico CityW Series
November 5-72021 Brazilian Grand PrixInterlagos
November 19-212021 Australian Grand PrixMelbourne
December 3-52021 Saudi Arabian Grand PrixJeddahFormula 2
December 10-122021 Abu Dhabi Grand PrixYas Marina Formula 2

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *