FIA publishes provisional 2017 F1 calendar

Filed in Blog/News by on 0 Comments

After its meeting in Paris today, the FIA’s World Motorsport Council has published the provisional Formula 1 calendar for 2017. The season starts in Australia on March 26 and finishes in Abu Dhabi on November 26, and will feature the same 21 races as this year.

The 2017 F1 calendar is remarkably unchanged from this year, with just two pairs of races seeing their positions switched (China going before Bahrain and Malaysia before Singapore). The season kicks off one week later than this year – on March 26 – to give the teams a little more time to prepare for the sport’s new 2017 regulations. The races in Canada, Germany and Brazil are listed as ‘subject to confirmation’, presumably due to outstanding financial issues.

As with this year, the European Grand Prix on the streets of Baku in Azerbaijan is to be held on the same weekend (June 17-18) as the iconic Les Mans 24 hour sportscar race. In another controversial move, the Bahrain Grand Prix is scheduled for Easter Sunday. The provisional 2017 calendar features a record seven back-to-back races, one more double header than this year. The traditional four-week European summer break will be observed between the German Grand Prix on July 30 and the Belgian Grand Prix on August 27.

It’s tempting to start planning your 2017 F1 holidays already, but don’t forget that this calendar is only provisional. Make sure that any reservations you make before the calendar is ratified in December are flexible or refundable, as changes are not uncommon. Here’s the provisional 2017 Formula 1 calendar in full:

  1. March 26: Albert Park, Australia
  2. April 9: Shanghai, China
  3. April 16: Bahrain
  4. April 30: Sochi, Russia
  5. May 14: Barcelona, Spain
  6. May 28: Monaco
  7. June 11: Montreal, Canada
  8. June 18: Baku, Azerbaijan
  9. July 2: Red Bull Ring, Austria
  10. July 9: Silverstone, Great Britain
  11. July 23: Budapest, Hungary
  12. July 30: Hockenheim, Germany
  13. August 27: Spa Francorchamps, Belgium
  14. September 3: Monza, Italy
  15. September 17: Sepang, Malaysia
  16. October 1: Singapore
  17. October 8: Suzuka, Japan
  18. October 22: Austin, USA
  19. November 5: Mexico
  20. November 12: Interlagos, Brazil
  21. November 26: Abu Dhabi

Click here for the official calendar announcement from the FIA. Buy F1 tickets here.

Tags: , ,

About the Author ()

Andrew Balfour is the Founder and Editor of He originally hails from Adelaide, where he went to his first F1 race way back in 1987. He's been resident in Europe for almost 15 years and travels regularly to F1 races around the world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *