2021 Porsche Supercup season to begin at Monaco Grand Prix

The Porsche Supercup will feature on the support schedule at eight F1 weekends in Europe this year, beginning with the 2021 Monaco Grand Prix.

The Porsche Supercup returns for the start of its 29th season at the Monaco Grand Prix. The eight-race 2021 calendar is based entirely in Europe. The calendar follows a similar course to last year’s coronavirus-impacted schedule. Further races will take place on F1 weekends over the summer at the Red Bull Ring, the Hungaroring and Spa Francorchamps. The series visits Zandvoort for the first time in early September, while the season finale will be staged at Monza over the Italian Grand Prix weekend.

After Monaco, the Porsche Supercup was scheduled to head to Circuit Paul Ricard for the second round of its season. It would have been the first time that the series visited the circuit. However, recent F1 calendar changes mean that the Porsche Supercup will instead hold a double header of races at the Red Bull Ring, in support of the Styrian and Austrian Grands Prix.

2021 Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup Calendar

DatesEventWhere?Other Support Categories
May 20-232021 Monaco Grand PrixMonacoFormula 2, Formula Regional by Alpine
June 25-272021 Styrian Grand PrixSpielbergW Series
July 2-42021 Austrian Grand PrixSpielbergFormula 3, W Series
July 16-182021 British Grand PrixSilverstoneFormula 2, W Series
July 30-Aug 12021 Hungarian Grand PrixBudapestFormula 3, W Series
August 27-292021 Belgian Grand PrixSpaFormula 3, W Series
September 3-52021 Dutch Grand PrixZandvoortFormula 3, W Series
September 10-122021 Italian Grand Prix
MonzaFormula 2

The 2020 season

Last year’s eight-race season was won by Dutch driver Larry ten Voorde. He took three poles and three wins on his way to victory with Team GP Elite. It was the first season not to be won by Michael Ammermüller since 2016, with the three-time champion having stepped away from the series at the end of 2019. In the teams’ championship, Lechner Racing continued their dominance, having won all but one championship since 2010.

Who to watch this season

Dylan Pereira challenged ten Voorde for last year’s title, and ended the season just seven points behind the champion. He’ll be hoping to add to his two wins from 2020, as will Ayhancan Güven. Güven also won two races last year and took three poles, but lacked consistency in his results to really be in the title hunt with ten Voorde and Pereira. The Turkish driver finished as runner-up in 2019 and is likely to be in the mix again in 2021.

New Zealand’s Jaxon Evans, who placed fourth in last year’s championship, has switched teams ahead of the 2021 season. He took a single win last year, his second year in the Porsche Supercup, at the season-opening Red Bull Ring round.

New for 2021

A major change for this year is a new car for the one-make series. The Type 992 Porsche 911 GT3 Cup car, which was revealed in December, has a slightly higher power output than the previous model, which was in use from 2017 to 2020.

The Porsche Supercup was first introduced in 1993 and has always been held as a support series to Formula 1. It first supported F1 at the 1993 San Marino Grand Prix. The series primarily takes place in Europe, though in recent years the race has been on the support bill at the Mexican Grand Prix, the United States Grand Prix and the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

The series’ list of champions in recent years includes Rene Rast, who who won three successive titles between 2010 and 2012 and now races in Formula E; sports car and touring car star Philipp Eng; and Earl Bamber in 2014, who went on to win the World Endurance Championship title alongside Timo Bernhard and Brendon Hartley in 2017.

Are you planning a trip to a race where the Porsche Supercup is on the support bill? Leave a comment below!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *