2020 Formula 1 calendar: Singapore, Azerbaijan & Japan cancelled

Formula 1 has announced the cancellation of the 2020 Azerbaijan Grand Prix, 2020 Singapore Grand Prix and 2020 Japanese Grand Prix as a revised 15-18 race 2020 F1 calendar takes shape.

After confirming the first 8 races – all in Europe – on the revised 2020 Formula 1 calendar earlier this month, Formula 1 has now announced that the races in Azerbaijan, Singapore and Japan will not take place this year. A statement from Formula 1 cited the following reasons for the cancellation:  “In Singapore and Azerbaijan the long lead times required to construct street circuits made hosting the events during a period of uncertainty impossible and in Japan, ongoing travel restrictions also led to the decision not to proceed with the race.”
Formula 1 also announced that they “have made significant progress with existing and new promoters on the revised calendar and have been particularly encouraged by the interest that has been shown by new venues in hosting a Formula 1 race during the 2020 season.” A revised 15-18 race calendar is expected to finish in Bahrain and Abu Dhabi in the first half of December, but there’s still room for “at least five or six good races in the middle,” according to F1 motorsports boss Ross Brawn. Among the circuits in contention are Mugello, Imola, Hockenheimring and Portimao. The former is owned by Ferrari and is rumoured to be under consideration for the Scuderia’s 1000th Formula 1 race, one week after the 2020 Italian Grand Prix. Other races from the original 2020 Formula 1 calendar still under consideration include the Russian Grand Prix, Canadian Grand Prix and the Chinese Grand Prix. Races in the USA, Mexico and Brazil are also technically still in contention for a place on this year’s calendar, though the severe coronavirus situation in all three countries may hamper their chances. All currently planned 2020 races are expected to be held behind closed doors with no spectators present, though the possibility of fans attending late-season races is still under consideration. Read the full statement on Formula 1.com.

Revised 2020 Formula 1 calendar

1Austrian Grand PrixRed Bull RingJuly 3-5
2Austrian Grand PrixRed Bull RingJuly 10-12
3Hungarian Grand PrixHungaroringJuly 17-19
4British Grand PrixSilverstoneJuly 31 – Aug 2
5British Grand PrixSilverstoneAugust 7-9
6Spanish Grand PrixBarcelona-CatalunyaAugust 14-16
7Belgian Grand PrixSpa-FrancorchampsAugust 28-30
8Italian Grand PrixMonzaSeptember 4-6

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *